Narrative as Teacher Research

Readings:
Hubbard & Power - Chapter 5 - Creative Review of the Literature
Goswami - Lewis - Using Narrative as Teacher Research

Goswami, Lewis, Rutherford & Waff – Chapter 3 – Using Narrative as Teacher Research

This was a powerful example of how the use of narratives in research not only effects students, but can have a profound effect upon the teacher.  I feel the key to the success of this narrative research lies in the teacher beginning the journey.  Her story helped her students understand who she was and the purpose of sharing with narratives.  She discovered through this process that language is a gift, but must be used carefully as to not become a weapon that can cut and scar.  I really liked how she framed her interpretation of one of her students when she states that language was like a swarm of butterflies that turned into wasp.

Another one of her insights about teacher research that hits home to me is that while many questions have been answered, more questions have been generated.  I think this is one aspect of teacher research that we need to made aware of before we enter into a research project.

I like the quote by Leo Tolstoy, “It’s impossible and absurd to teach and educate a child for the simple reason that the child stands closed than I do…to that ideal of harmony, truth, beauty and goodness to which I wish to raise him. The consciousness of this ideal lies more powerful in him than in me. All he needs of me is the necessary material to fulfill himself, harmoniously and multifariously.”  This is a truth that we should all keep in mind as we work with children.




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a PhD student in Language, Reading and Culture at the University of Arizona in Tucson, Arizona.

    Archives

    March 2012

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed