Funds of Knowledge

Readings:
Gonzales, Moll & Amanti, Funds of Knowledge (Preface & Introduction)

Class Presentation
Kathy Zeleski
Refugee Community – Iskasnitaa: More than Grapefruit

Reflection:
Classroom Presentation
      Kathy’s presentation gave a great overview of the entire teacher research process.  Her work with the refugee community is very inspirational.  It is nice to see someone with such a heart for the people with ideas and knowledge on how to improve their plight as they migrate to another country.

Some of the takeaways I had from her presentation include:
Formation of the questions, her questions were:
  • What are the objectives for the course?
  • What are the reasons students take the course?
  • How can I use these reasons to shape the curriculum for the students’ needs?
  • How can we better match the topics and teach to the learners needs?

I can foresee using some of this insight into the research I am developing about online learners.
  • Parts of the Research include:
  • The Inquiry Process includes setting, anecdotal record, interviews, observations
  • Literature Review
  • Annotated Bibliography
  • Findings
  • Identified needs that can help students become successful
Funds of Knowledge
       The first reflection about the Funds of Knowledge reading is the conversational style that persists throughout the Preface and the Introduction.  It was almost like I will sitting down and talking to Norma, Luis and Cathy.  This did not really hit me until the section, Is This Scientifically Based Research?  The response is, “Of course it is.”  I could also see Norma coming up out of her chair defending the study.  This approach made the readings easy to understand and relate to on a personal level.
       In the section about Scientifically Based Research there is a quote that from Pellegrino and Goldman (2002) criticizing government scientific methods that hits home for me in regard to researching education.  Teaching and learning is a messy, complex process that requires various approaches to study and achieve solutions that will make a true impact upon teachers and students.  This study takes an innovative approach that respects and honors those who are usually not respected or honored. 
       I gathered knowledge from each perspective that was presented in the book.  In the Anthropologist’s view, I read that the project did not emerge in a fully formed state, but evolved through incremental steps.  This is reassuring to me that as the study progresses, there might be twist and turns to reshape my thinking.  I need to be prepared for this to take place and be open to this readjustment.  In the Educational Researcher’s view, I became familiar with the study that came before this one and the lesson learned.  I realize that by studying other’s work will only enrich my own study and thinking.  The Teacher’s View had the most impact upon me because this was a volunteer who was participating in the study and was totally vested in the process.  She was there to learn and implement her findings.  I really like her quote, “…the desire to improve our teaching practices and a willingness to step out of our comfort zone to achieve that end.”
       Overall, the preface and the Introduction gave me a sense of the entire process of the teacher research that was conducted in the Funds of Knowledge study.  I believe this reading will help me as I go about structuring my own study.  Especially the section on “What Kinds of Questions Do We Ask?”  I appreciate how they approached the people explaining the study and benefits.  I loved the statement about the problem was not getting into the homes, but rather getting out.  I experienced this with my World of Warcraft study.  Once the boys started talking about their gaming, they did not want to stop.  They were amazed that an adult was taking interest in their gaming strategies.
       The story aspect of this book has always made it one of my favorite studies to read and share with others.




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a PhD student in Language, Reading and Culture at the University of Arizona in Tucson, Arizona.

    Archives

    March 2012

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed