Course Evaluation

1.      What is/was the most beneficial information/knowledge gained from the course about the process of conducting research/inquiry?

I think when you shared stories of your experience with conducting research.  I really understood the application of conducting research.  You made it come to life and I could see the excitement of doing research.  The process is pretty straightforward and I have taken another research course, so I had no trouble going through the process for my research study.  The Classroom Inquiry Book does a good job of describing the process of conducting research.

2.     What is/was the most significant insight gained from the course as it relates and applies to issues in education and schooling?

The exercise of listing theorist or theories, then going back and creating annotations was the most helpful.  I was really able to think out the theories I wanted to use and then take time to explore them before I wrote my final paper.  When I sat down to write my final paper, I was not overwhelmed by the references as I had time to reevaluate and decide what really fit into my research piece.

3.      What are and/or remain questions or issues in education and schooling that need to be or should continue to be addressed?

My focus is in higher education and specifically online education.  This is a relatively new area of study so there are many questions that arise.  I do think that some of these questions do trickle down to the K-12 arena.  Here are some questions:

 1) How do we engage/motive the learner? 2) How do we go about teaching critical thinking? 3) How can we change the paradigm of teacher centered learning to student centered learning? 4) How can we go about assessing learning outcomes in a meaningful way? (No just a grade) 5) How can emerging technologies assist learners in achieving learning outcomes?

I could go on forever with a list of questions for education and schooling, but I will stop with these five.  By the way, the fifth question is the broad one I am using for my dissertation.

4.      What were the strengths of this course?  What worked for you?

The format of the class was engaging.  I much prefer an active classroom experience than a passive one.  I enjoyed our group discussions and learned from both you and my fellow students.  I also benefited from the guest speakers, including past students.  The readings and the journals help contribute to my overall learning experience.

5.      What suggestions could you offer or recommend that I consider in terms of changes in the class sessions, structure of the course, course topics/issues, course material and activities?

I would like to see more technology implemented into the course. The notebook and journals are wonderful ways to show we have achieved learning outcomes, but I would have rather produced them in electronic form.  Not only is it better environmentally and economically, but also I could have viewed my classmate’s work.  If our journals had been blogs, then we could have commented on each other’s entries and created another learning experience.  And if the notebooks had been displayed on a website, then we could view each other’s work and possible refer to it or use it later.

If you are interested in making the technology transition, I could help out with this area the next time you teach this class. J




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a PhD student in Language, Reading and Culture at the University of Arizona in Tucson, Arizona.

    Archives

    March 2012

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed